- how can we help? -

Find our most frequently asked questions here

Children aged 12 months and above can enjoy the creamy comforting taste of Horlicks, but we recommend having Horlicks as part of a balanced diet and healthy lifestyle. The vitamins and minerals provided are based on an average adult requirement; we therefore recommend diluting the product for younger children.

When using hot milk/water please keep out of reach of young children until at a temperature suitable for consumption.

The Horlicks range does not contain any added caffeine. Any caffeine present is minimal and naturally occurring. Our latest analysed results are - Traditional – less than 1.25mg per 25g serving, Light Instant – less than 1.6mg per 32g serving and Light Instant Chocolate – 2.56mg per 32g serving as cocoa has naturally occurring caffeine present.

None of the products in the Horlicks range contain soya.

Horlicks contains milk and cereals containing gluten, these cereals are wheat and barley.

Horlicks is loved not only for the delicious and unique malty taste but also for its comforting creaminess. To achieve the creaminess we use non-hydrogenated palm oil, which is a vegetable oil that is one of the most commonly used ingredients in food and drink products. We only use RSPO certified palm oil which means it is sourced responsibly from an international supplier and grown in a sustainable manner. For more information please visit www.rspo.org.

None of the Horlicks range contain nuts and is manufactured at a nut free site so we can confidently claim nut free.

Yes all the ingredients contained within Horlicks are suitable for a vegetarian diet.

Horlicks contains dairy products like skimmed milk and whey which is not suitable for a vegan diet.

Horlicks is not suitable for a gluten-free diet. The delicious and distinctive taste of Horlicks comes from the unique blend of ingredients, of which is made mostly of malted wheat and barley. Wheat and barley contains the gluten protein which coeliac / gluten-free diets should avoid.

Health authorities and Diabetes UK advise a healthy, balanced diet, which is effectively the same advice for people with and without diabetes.

For any diabetic wanting to enjoy the great taste of Horlicks the best advice would be to consult your GP/practice nurse. There is also lots of information on www.diabetes.co.uk.

Unfortunately Horlicks tablets have not been available for a number of years. As part of our commitment to grow the Horlicks brand we will be looking at future product development launches and will certainly investigate if there is an opportunity to re-launch Horlicks tablets.

Although Horlicks has been loved by the nation as a bedtime drink for many years due to it's comforting, warm taste, Horlicks will not directly aid sleep.There is nothing of any medicinal property in Horlicks that causes drowsiness. However, Horlicks promotes a sense of wellbeing and comfort which can lead to a better night's sleep.

Horlicks' unique, malty goodness can be enjoyed at any time of the day, whether you need a quick boost or are having a relaxing moment.

The dairy ingredients within the Horlicks Original base help to form the uniquely delicious taste of Horlicks and its creamy, caramel flavours. In order to replace the flavours without using dairy, the Horlicks R&D team worked tirelessly on creating a vegan recipe that delivers a very similar creamy, caramel taste profile without the dairy. All done to make sure we could maintain the malty goodness of the Original product, now just vegan!

The Horlicks Vegan recipe is certified dairy-free. Every batch produced is sent to an independent lab for allergen testing and only when these results are confirmed are the products released for sale.

Our vegan Horlicks is delicious with all varieties of dairy-free milk, but we really love oat milk as the cereal flavours really compliment the malty taste.

Unlike dairy milk, the nutritional information for alternative milk differs greatly depending on type and even brand of milk. In order avoid confusion, we have provided the information based on the powder per serving and per 100g.

Yes! We are proud to confirm that we are registered by The Vegan Society.

get in touch

Good or bad, we'd love to receive any feedback and hear from you. 

You can get in touch with us through social media, calling us, emailing us or writing to our free post address.